The Turner Prize  

Turner Prize

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist under fifty, or an artist working
in Britain, for an outstanding presentation of their work in the last year.

The £30,000 prize, established by Tate's Patrons of New Art in 1984, is intended to promote
public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art.

It is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

The winners are:
Malcolm Morley 1984
Howard Hodgkin 1985
Gilbert & George 1986
Richard Deacon 1987
Tony Cragg 1988
Richard Long 1989
1990 no award
Anish Kapoor 1991
Grenville Davey 1992
Rachel Whiteread 1993
Athony Gormley 1994
Damien Hirst 1995
Douglas Gordon 1996
Gillian Wearing 1997
Chris Ofili 1998
Steve McQueen 1999
Wolfgang Tillmans 2000
Martin Creed 2001
Keith Tyson 2002
Grayson Perry 2003.



More Turner Prize Information Soon

  Brian Sewell Turmer Prize Special  
  Brian Sewell Home